McKENNA & CHAGGER keynote @ Year4Conference, Nov 26

McKenna, Chagger, May, Cullen, Sahota, Woo, McGuinty,  vanKoeverden, Beatty, Daviau…..

The Year 4 Conference….Y4C

We want to invite you to be part of an important conference this fall – one that focuses on Year 4 of the current Parliament. What do you want to see the government and opposition parties accomplish?  Join us on November 26 in Ottawa.

This November is the third anniversary of the current federal government, which means one more year till the next election.

Depending on your perspective, this Parliament has been very productive or not productive enough, on the nose or off the mark. This conference will begin with a review of the past three years, but spend most time on Year 4. What needs to happen? What projects need completion? What loose ends need to get tied up. It’s less about the politics and more about the policy.

Ministers, MPs from all parties and Senators are being invited to talk about what they plan to do in the year ahead. Business, labour academia, NGOs and others are invited to put forward their top priorities for the year ahead.

Agenda outline (Draft) November 26


Dr. Marion Barfurth, Research and Scholar on Innovation

Prof. Jonathan Calof, Co-Chair, Economy4Tomorrow Committee, Pearson Centre, Telfer School of Management, uOttawa

8:30 The Political Climate

Name Affiliation Topic
Kevin Bosch Vice President, Hill + Knowlton; Former Deputy Director, Liberal Research Bureau Liberal achievements
Farouk Karim CUPW Media Relations
David Moscrop  Macleans’s, Washington Post  

9:45 What is Year 4 about?

Hon. Dalton McGuinty Former Premier of Ontario What is Year 4 about?

 10:00 Economic Priorities

Brock Carlton President, Federation of Canadian Municipalities The needs of cities
JP Gladu President and CEO, Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) Economic advancement of Indigenous Peoples
Prof. Ian Lee Sprott School of Business, CarletonU National debt
Corinne Pohlman Senior Vice-President, National Affairs and Partnerships,   Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB) Small Business agenda
Toby Sanger Executive Director, Canadians for Tax Fairness (C4TF) Tax policy

11:30 Priorities of the Political Parties and the Senate

All-party panel of MPs and one Senator

– Ruby Sahota, MP

– Nathan Cullen,  MP

– Elizabeth May, MP

– Sen. Yuen Pau Woo + a Conservative Party tbc

12:30 Working lunch

Conversation with the Honourable CATHERINE McKENNA

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change

1:30 The Private and the Public Sector

Perrin Beatty President, Canadian Chamber of Commerce
Debi Daviau President, Professional Institute for the public Service of Canada

2:00 Economic and Social Innovation

Pamela Fralick President, Innovation Medicines Canada
Kerry McCuaig Atkinson Fellow Early childhood education
Adam van Koeverden Athlete, Gold medal kayaker, Political candidate
Dara Wawatay Chabot Activist, student Indigenous youth
 Adam Melnick Director Government & Community Relations, Heat and Frost Insulators & Allied Workers Local 95 Ontario


3:30 The Environment and the Economy

Dr. Marion Barfurth Researcher and Scholar Innovation
Mark Cameron Executive Director, Clean Prosperity
Elizabeth Macdonald Environment and Energy Efficiency Advisor Mainstreaming climate change
Craig Stewart Insurance Bureau of Canada Climate adaptation; Sustainable finance
Stephane Tywoniak Associate Professor of Complex Project Management, Telfer School of ManagementUniversity of Ottawa Getting mega projects done
One more TBC

4:30 – 5:00

Closing keynote:

The Liberal Government’s Legislative Agenda with the

Honourable BARDISH CHAGGER,  Leader of the Government in the House of Commons


5:00 Adjournment



Subscribe to the Pearson Centre newsletter.

Insightful commentary & debate, delivered to your inbox. Sign up below.